Home > Updates > A New Endeavor

A New Endeavor

A New Endeavor

"New Idea" by jscreationzs on freedigitalphotos.net

Money has been a fascination of mine ever since I picked up my first dollar bill at the young age of 6 years old. I was at a family friend’s house and I didn’t know what it was, so I pocketed it and played with it in the car on the way home. My parents immediately stopped the car and interrogated me over where I had gotten the money. I got in so much trouble and didn’t understand why at the time. We drove back to their friend’s house and I returned the mysterious green piece of paper. Such a powerful piece of paper.

I have since graduated college and held a steady job. In my own eyes I am fairly successful at this stage of my life. Of course if I stagnate and stay where I am then I wouldn’t be able to say the same in a few years time. I’ve dreamed about getting rich quick and have found myself “almost” getting sucked into schemes. These guys make their products seem so risk free and who would pass up a chance to get rich with little to no risk? They could probably sell ocean-front property in Arizona.

Trying to get rich quickly does not work. If it did, then there would be so many more rich people in the world. Think about it! Building net worth slowly and intelligently is the only way to go. I have devoted a lot of my personal time to researching net worth building and one common theme is saving money. You would have thought that investing money would be at the top of the list, but it isn’t! Now, you could go ahead and call a savings account an investment and I would have to agree with you. I am talking about the act of saving money and it is a must-do for us young professionals.

We want the latest gadgets and we want the most stylish clothes, but in order to build savings we have to make sure we spend less money than we make. This is such a simple principle that many people overlook. Hey, it is easy to overlook this because of credit cards. Some people subscribe to the reasoning that if they charge more than they can afford, they’ll just pay the minimum payment on their next month’s credit card bill. This is such a dangerous trap to fall into.

I have learned a lot so far about slow, but successful ways to build personal net worth. I am not talking about getting filthy rich, but I am talking about getting richer than you are now. Three little words are underneath the title of this blog. The foundation topic of this blog is saving money. Once you save your money, you have to make sure that life’s uncertainties don’t force you into spending the money before you want to. You also have the choice to invest your money and assume some risk. The good thing about investing is that you can choose the level of risk you are willing to accept.

I hope you find the articles I write to be entertaining and helpful. I hope to carry this blog forward as much as I can. One day, this blog will have it’s own web address and won’t be hosted on WordPress.com. One day, this blog will have actual subscribers who look forward to upcoming articles. One day, this blog will have pictures and not just text. One day, this blog will have a Twitter and Facebook account associated with it so that I can interact with all the people who find my articles to be worth their time. One day.

Categories: Updates
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

