Home > Lifestyle > Cable Subscription

Cable Subscription

Cancelling Cable TV
“No Signal” by Keattikorn on freedigialphotos.net

I have been thinking about cancelling my cable subscription for almost a year now, but I haven’t been able to pull the trigger. The place I rent from has a contract with AT&T to provide Internet access and cable television for a discounted price. If I cancelled the cable subscription, then I would have to pay full price on the Internet access.

Raw Numbers

My current deal is the U200 cable subscription with Elite Internet access. Separately, that costs about $112 a month. The place I rent from charges $85 a month so I save about 24%. Not too shabby! If I were to pay the full $43 for Elite Internet access, then I would be saving about $43 a month. I am not throwing taxes and fees into the raw numbers. That means in a year I can save about $516. Wow.

Lifestyle Changes

Let me take a step back and look at the activities that I participate in every day. I wake up, go to work, come home, and study for my professional engineering exam or surf the Internet. Oh wow, I don’t touch my television at all! Wait, but that is on weekdays only. Weekends are a bit different, I do watch some television. Football season is different too since I am a fan of the sport. Hmm, let’s think about this. I could probably entertain myself on the weekends with television shows that are on the Internet and football games come on the local channels anyways. I wouldn’t really need to change my lifestyle all that much if I got rid of the cable subscription!

Bottom Line

I am just too lazy to call them and cancel. That’s the bottom line here. The prospect of saving $516 a year is pretty huge. It is the equivalent of earning 5% on a 1 year $10,000 CD at a bank. What a great deal! You don’t have to lock up $10,000 for a year. Take a quick look at CD rates right now and you’ll see numbers around 1-2% for a one year certificate. I have friends who have a computer connected to their television so they can watch Netflix and other video streaming programs. Most television stations upload advertisement-funded streams of their popular shows days after they air. I need to go make a phone call now.

Categories: Lifestyle
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

