Home > Discounts > Save with Priceline

Save with Priceline

Save on Hotels with Priceline

Screenshot from priceline.com

Priceline has been around for awhile and has saved me a lot of money over the years. If you are okay with staying anywhere within a subset of a city, then this is the place to book your hotel. They also offer other things such as flights, car rental, vacations, and cruises. I’ve also used Priceline to rent a car before and it was a great experience. I won’t be covering the car rental in this article.

My Hotel Booking Experience

I recently went to Chicago on vacation and used Priceline to book my hotel. My transportation was 100% public so I didn’t have to rent a car. Chicago is a really great city, you should visit if you have never been there. When I went on Priceline, I was able to choose from several different areas of Chicago. I narrowed my choices down to “Millenium Park, Look & Grant Park Areas” and “North Michigan Ave – River North Area.” All the places I wanted to visit were around these areas. I was then able to choose between 1 and 4 stars for my desired hotel star level. Since I was hunting for a good deal, I started up top and chose 4 stars.

The next step was to research recent successful bids for the area. Priceline provides a link on their homepage that shows the most recent winning bids for the area that you input. I saw that there was a winning bid for a 4 star hotel downtown for $75 so I put in $70 as my bid. My bid was accepted and I found out that I was staying at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. Their normal daily rate was upwards of $200, so I felt like I got a really good deal. In the back of my mind I kept thinking there had to be a catch.

The vacation was a while ago and I am happy to report that there wasn’t a catch. The hotel filled one of its empty rooms and Priceline’s business model works like a charm. If your initial bid is not accepted, don’t worry! Wait 24 hours and try again. Remember, wait the full 24 hours or else your wait timer might get reset. Make sure you book in advance so you can go through as many iterations of bidding as required to get a great deal! The winning bids fluctuate from season to season. I happened to visit Chicago when nothing was going on in the City so I was able to secure a rock bottom rate. YMMV.

There are various forums online that provide tips and tricks to bidding on Priceline. Make sure you Google them and read up. They also provide recent bids by people like yourself. Happy bidding!

Categories: Discounts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

